Sherfield School is based on a beautiful Hampshire site that boasts a great history.
Buckfield, our most imposing building, is a lovely Victorian manor house with medieval origins. The site’s history can be traced to the 12th century. It was part of the manor of Odiham which was granted to William Fitz Aldelin by King Henry II.
In Tudor times, a house called Archer Lodge was established on the site. Archer Lodge was later destroyed by fire, but some brickwork was incorporated into Buckfield Lodge when it was built in 1870.
The house was renamed Sherfield Manor after extensive rebuilding in 1897. The house is remarkable. The beautiful staircase was carved in situ by Italian craftsmen and the wonderful ceilings are rumoured to be from a Florence palace. The staircase, ceilings, imposing stone fireplaces and individually carved oak panels of the original dining room bear witness to the tastes and wealth of Sherfield’s residents.
Sherfield Manor became a girls’ boarding school in 1947. The current school opened in 2004.
On the centenary of the outbreak of World War One, Sherfield School paid tribute to its own fallen hero and to the young men of the village of Sherfield-on-Loddon who never returned from the battlefields. See here.